Sources: After Raman Singh resigned, the BJP will support PM Modi in the Chhattisgarh elections.

According to sources, the BJP has decided to run in the state elections “under collective leadership” rather than using Raman Singh, the three-time chief minister of Chhattisgarh.

According to party insiders, the BJP has chosen to run in the Chhattisgarh state assembly elections without fielding a candidate for chief minister. This is a first for the party in the state.

This points to a tactical change in the party’s strategy, decided upon in advance of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Raipur tour, which aims to capitalise on his well-liked reputation.

Following a lengthy meeting last week between senior state BJP leaders and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, the decision was made with the intention of reducing factionalism within the state unit.

Om Mathur, the BJP’s National Vice President, and Mansukh Mandaviya, the Union Health Minister, have been designated as the state of Chhattisgarh’s election in-charges.

Chhattisgarh presents a huge obstacle for the BJP. In the most recent assembly election, where the vote share disparity between the Congress and BJP widened to more than 10%, the party was soundly defeated.

Only 15 of the 90 seats in the state were won by the BJP in 2018, while Congress won a whopping 68.

However, in the federal elections that followed in 2019, the BJP performed well, garnering more than 50% of the vote and capturing 9 out of the state’s 11 parliamentary seats.

The BJP believes there is a chance for a comeback in Chhattisgarh after the Baghel government’s five-year term ends because there is a sentiment against the current administration there.

In addition to Chhattisgarh, Assembly elections are scheduled for later this year in Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan, and Telangana. These elections mark the final round of state elections prior to the crucial Lok Sabha elections the following year.


Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *